Pick up your trash

One of my pet peeves is litter and the people who trash our great state. I’ve seen people toss bottles out of their car windows, fling cups into bushes, and drop cigarette boxes onto sidewalks.

From my observations, litterbugs are a diverse group: different ages, races, etc. One night while leaving Broadcast House, I noticed a car full of college women pulled over on Columbus Boulevard, apparently out for a night on the town. They then opened the door and dumped their McDonald’s wrappers and cups right on the sidewalk and drove off.

Another time, I was walking on the street when a seemingly well-to-do woman walked out of the Wadsworth Atheneum in her mink coat, crumpled up a piece of paper and threw it on the sidewalk as she climbed into her Lexus. I walked up to her car, tapped her on the window and said, “Excuse me, ma’am? You dropped something.” She was mortified, got out of the car and retrieved HER trash.

Another time during rush hour, a businessman opened his car door at the lights near the Travelers Tower and dumped out a handful of trash, wrappers and that sort of thing. It looked like he had been cleaning his car while waiting in traffic. At the next set of lights, we approached him and asked him if he would go back and clean up his trash. To our surprise, he did. He was embarrassed as heck and maybe thought he was going to be on the evening news.

Another time, a young couple enjoying ice cream in West Hartford Center left their empty cups on a bench — feet away from a trash a barrel. What is wrong with these people?

Litterbugs are mostly lazy people. Really lazy. Check out these pictures from Bushnell Park.

Dennis observes litter

Dennis observes litter

Note the proximity of the trash barrels. Why can’t they throw their trash away? The wrapper on the bench came from Whole Foods, whose customers pride themselves as being environmentally conscious. This particular customer obviously is not. These are horribly lazy pigs we are talking about it.

Cleaning up after these losers costs all of us money. Our taxes pay for people to clean up after the swine that pollute the Connecticut landscape. In Hartford, three men patrol downtown cleaning up after the filthy beings who should be living in a barn. In a story I did a few years back, we learned that, on a weekly basis, these men pick up tens of thousands of cigarette butts — some of which lay strewn mere feet away from trash cans and receptacles made specifically for cigarette butts.

This is a beautiful state and the Capital City is a marvel of historic architecture. Let’s have some pride, show some respect and keep it clean.

2 Responses

  1. I can’t believe that there is someone else out there who is just as disgusted as I am. It disturbs me to think that these people don’t care enough about themselves to keep the places they live and work in clean. I have been teaching my son that it is wrong to litter and the people who do it are rude and lazy. So now everytime he sees garbage in a parking lot he always wants to pick it up and put it in the trash can because he knows better. I just wish that other parents would teach their children proper manners and values.

  2. I’m glad to see that more people are becoming concerned with litterbugs. These litterbugs cost us the taxpayers alot of money. I get so disgusted when I see someone throwing trash out their car window. I think anyone who litters should be fined on the spot. Yes, there are fines posted on some roadways but I personally have never heard of anyone getting a fine for littering. Especially for throwing cigaratte buts out car windows. This is such a common occurance. We can help the situation by educating our children on how important it is to put trash in its place….the garbage can. Hopefully if they learn young, they will never turn to be litterbugs when they are adults. I teach by example, if I have garbage in my car, I wait
    (sometimes I have alot of garbage from my 3 kids!)till I see a trash can in front of a store or till I get home to throw it out. Another common problem is people spitting gum right onto the sidewalk or parking lot after they are done chewing it, YUK!!!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 146 other followers

